Late Night Musings

June 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

20110628-104006.jpg

For this public art commission I have had to learn how to negotiate creative time with a lot of time spent dealing with logistics, budgets, and fabricators.  The project has taken a year and a half to realize so I have needed to develop a good amount of patience.  For example today I spent most of the day with my assistant working on business items.  I didn’t get into the studio until 7PM.

I am creating these collages the old fashion way…… cutting and attaching in the studio with scissors and tape.  Working with my hands has always been important in my process. Most of the time when I project what I have figured out in photoshop it doesn’t work.  Something is very wrong with that picture!  Also, I wonder if at least I burn extra calories since I spend so many hours a day putting up and taking down large scale painted fragments.  In the end what I am looking for is a “made by hand” feeling.  My goal is to transform  the vestibule floors in the station into monumental floor drawings/paintings.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Late Night Musings at margeryamdur.

meta

