islands of imagery

July 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

20110705-115402.jpg

I work on frosted mylar. I really love it because of it’s translucency.  As a result I am able to work on both sides of the paper to achieve a greater sense of depth in the surfaces.  On some of the layers I use a hot cutter to cut lace-like patterns that I attach to the underneath surfaces. I desire a  sense of unity within each composition; however, I also want to create a bit of a disconnect between some of the passages. To create physical depth I work in layers.  I am constructing a sort of abstracted map…..a puzzling together of various islands of imagery. It has taken me five weeks to get to a point where I am not constantly arranging and rearranging the parts. It is a pleasure to walk into the studio and know that I have successfully taken the leap to the other side……….of what you might ask?  Elizabeth Murray said that “art is made in the gap between where you are and where you want to be.” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yxl2WAR3-QE

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading islands of imagery at margeryamdur.

meta

