Thank you Larry

July 9, 2011 § Leave a comment

20110705-115546.jpg

This detail is the far right right corner of the second vestibule drawing.  It has been important to me that I make many individual sections from within the larger compositions work on their own. Maybe there will be a way to extend the life of the drawings into digital compositions that i can work back into?  I must admit that there are times when i get seduced by some of the smaller sections.  When I was a young student at Carnegie-Mellon University, I saw a painting of Larry Poons, it had orange and blue dots, and I have never forgotten it.  I finally have been able to pay a distant homage to the painting by combining this hot orange with the blue surrounding area. On top of the hot orange circle I laid a piece of frosted mylar that I cut holes into and then painted both sides with complementary colors.  An interesting tid-bit……Gouache is really lovely to work with on frosted mylar.  You can continuously over-paint and erase because it isn’t permanent. It bleeds and blends like liquid chalk.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thank you Larry at margeryamdur.

meta

